Welcome to Foothills County


Regional Planning

Regional planning in Foothills County had not been at the forefront since the dissolution of the Calgary Regional Planning Commission by the Province in 1995. However, over the past several years the focus on regional planning re-emerged with the Provincial Land Use Framework and the development of the South Saskatchewan Regional Plan and the Calgary Metropolitan Plan. 

Then on January 1, 2018 the Government of Alberta established the Calgary Metropolitan Region Board  through the adoption of the Calgary Metropolitan Region Board Regulation by Order in Council . This board is comprised of 10 member municipalities in the Calgary region as named in the provincial regulation. Participation in the Board and compliance with the Growth and Servicing plans which will be developed by the Board are mandatory for all member municipalities.

To view a copy of the Provincial Land Use Framework click here.

For more information on the Calgary Metropolitan Region Board click here.

South Saskatchewan Regional Plan

The South Saskatchewan Regional Plan (SSRP) was approved on July 23, 2014, and became effective on September 1, 2014. Like the other regional plans. According to the Government of Alberta:

"The SSRP establishes a long-term vision for the South Saskatchewan Region and aligns provincial policies at the regional level to balance Alberta's economic, environmental and social goals. The regional plan also includes strategies for responsible energy development, sustainable farming and ranching, forest management, and nature-based tourism."

"This regional plan makes a clear statement about our long-term commitment to conservation, protection of watersheds, sustainaing biodiversity and sensitive habitats, and to the continued growth and prosperity of southern Alberta."

According to Section 20 of the Alberta Land Stewardship Act, local government bodies affected by a regional plan must review their regulatory instruments and determine if they are in conformance with the regional plan. They must then make any changes required to bring those instruments into compliance and file a statutory declaration with the secretariat that they have completed the review and are in compliance.

The time frame for this to be done is set out in the South Saskatchewan Regional Plan. According to the SSRP the review and the compliance declaration must be completed by September 1, 2019.

The South Saskatchewan Regional Plan can be found on the Alberta Provincial Website by clicking here.

Calgary Metropolitan Plan

The Calgary Metropolitan Plan (CMP) was produced over the course of more than three years by the member municipalities of the Calgary Regional Partnership (CRP), a voluntary cooperative that was established to work collaboratively to address planning and growth in the region. The CMP was approved June 19, 2009 by the General Assembly of the CRP, but the Rural members chose to opt out. The Municipal District of Foothills, Wheatland County, and Rockyview County eventually opted to leave the CRP over concerns with development densities and voting structure. 

In 2013  the Government of Alberta approved legislation enabling the establishment of growth management boards, and subsequently established the Calgary Metropolitan Region Board (CMRB) in 2017 through  adoption of the Calgary Metropolitan Region Board Regulation. This regulation mandated the City of Calgary and nine surrounding municipalities into the CMRB.

The Calgary Regional Partnership voluntarily disbanded on March 1, 2018 subsequent to the establishment of the Calgary Metropolitan Region Board.