Welcome to Municipal District of Foothills No. 31

Rural-to-Rural Intermunicipal Planning

Rural Intermunicipal Development Plans

In 2012 the MD of Foothills joined a group of eight rural municipalities in southern Alberta who hired the Oldman River Regional Services Commission (ORRSC) to create a series of eleven rural-to-rural intermunicipal development plans.

The purpose of these plans is to improve consultation with respect to planning and development between rural municipalities who share boundaries. The MD of Foothills is a party to four new intermunicipal development plans, with  Vulcan County, the M.D. of Willow Creek, Wheatland County and the M.D. of Ranchland. These plans will generally impact lands within two miles of the boundary between the M.D. and the adjacent municipality.

All four of the rural IDPs have now been adopted.

  • Vulcan County and M.D. of Foothills IDP - adopted by bylaw 83/2015 on November 4, 2015
  • M.D. of Willow Creek and M.D. of Foothills IDP - adopted by bylaw 82/2015 on November 4, 2015
  • Wheatland County and M.D. of Foothills IDP -  adopted by bylaw 81/2015 on November 4, 2015
  • M.D. of Foothills and M.D. of Ranchland IDP - adopted by bylaw 94/2015 on November 4, 2015



If you have questions or comments with respect to any of these plans contact:

Julie McLean, Senior Planner, MD of Foothills
403-603-6239   -  email

Copies of the final plans are available for review below:

Foothills - Ranchland IDP   |    Foothills - Vulcan IDP   |   Wheatland - Foothills IDP   |   Willow Creek - Foothills IDP