Welcome to Foothills County

Agriculture Scholarship

Agricultural Services Board Scholarship

The Agricultural Service Board is awarding two $2,500 Scholarships in 2019.

Deadline is November 29, 2019, 4:00 pm.

Qualified Applicants will not have received any Agricultural Service Board Scholarship from Foothills County or M.D. of Foothills previously. Applicants will be enrolled in their 2nd, 3rd, or 4th year of Post-Secondary Education in the fields of Agronomy, Animal Science, Ag Business, Agricultural Production, Agricultural Mechanics, or studies intended to effect change on the agricultural landscape. These scholarships will be awarded upon proof of Post-Secondary education enrollment and must be used in the year awarded.


Applicant must be a resident of Foothills County, which includes the hamlets of Blackie, Cayley, Aldersyde, Naphtha, Priddis, Millarville, Heritage Pointe, and Dewinton.

The Applicant’s Field of study must lead to a Degree or Diploma in the programs detailed above, and enrollment must be to a recognized Post-Secondary Institution.

The Scholarship applications must include and will be reviewed based on the following information:
Proof of enrollment in Post-Secondary education in an acceptable field of study;

  • Academic standing (previous year’s university or college transcripts);
  • Preference will be given to 2nd, 3rd, and 4th year students and students attending Canadian institutions;
  • Leadership in their community or school;
  • Community Involvement;
  • Submission of a 500-word essay detailing why you are studying for, and pursuing a career in Agriculture.

Scholarship applications submitted without the above criteria will not be considered.

SELECTION COMMITTEE:  The Agricultural Service Board

DATE OF APPLICATION:  Applications must be received no later than 4:00 pm, November 29, 2019.

APPLICATION PROCEDURE: Written applications including details of the above criteria should be submitted to:

Foothills County
Attention: Agricultural Service Board Secretary
309 Macleod Trail, Box 5605
High River, AB T1V 1M7

email: Bree.Webb@FoothillsCountyAB.ca